The Secret World

A few times ago, I’ve discovered an article on The Secret World on mmorpg.com, written by Shannon Doyle and I wanted to quote it as I really liked this article :

I recently had the most meta experience of my entire gaming life. There I was, relaxing after the insanity of E3 and ready to settle into The Secret World’s Tokyo. Then I learned, you need to earn access to get there. It makes sense, they don’t want any noob to just wander in. So I started doing a bit of research. I had two options. The first and possibly most popular was to do scenarios. They aren’t really my thing though, so I opted for the second way. It was to complete one of the missions that was in the Sidestories: Further Analysis pack. It was an investigation mission which started in Egypt but ended up taking me all over the world.

And this is where the meta comes in. I was at one point sitting at my computer playing my character Penny who was standing in Red’s Bait and Tackle playing a text game on a tablet about being in Seoul where she has to play something similar to Guitar Hero to gain entry into the internet café. So I was in fact playing a game, within a game, within a game. Mind. Blown. I have never in my life experienced something like this. The closest thing I ever got wasn’t a construct of the game I was playing but instead a player run experience. A few friends of mine decided to roll up new characters in City of Heroes, but with a twist. They weren’t being played by us. They were being played by our characters. So I had to play my character how another one of my characters would have played her. Ahhh, roleplayers.

This got me thinking about investigation missions. They are in my humble opinion the absolute highlight of The Secret World. They make you think outside the box, inside the box, and even about the box itself. One of the earliest was Dead Air, it took place at the Kingsmouth airport. This one I completed with three of my friends and we all had different approaches to it. There was a message, in Morse code. Now, I don’t know about anyone else but my Morse code is a bit rusty. So I started searching for ways to translate it. Without even speaking to each other except in character another broke out a piece of paper and pen to start scribbling the dots and dashes down while another broke out his phone and installed an app. All of this happened in real life mind you, not just in the game. But being roleplayers we did do it in character too. We all had a great laugh because it was the stuffy old Templar who thought to use technology, not the two Dragons and Illuminati. It was that moment, if I hadn’t been already that I was completely sold on The Secret World.

You can read the rest of article here http://www.mmorpg.com/gamelist.cfm/game/404/feature/8638/Investigate-This.html/page/1

But I totally agree, this universe in awesome and sometimes so much insanely difficult. Better to think before acting. It’s not a classic rpg, it’s not an infiltration game, it’s not a fps, it’s everything at the same time, and it’s just you that need to select the right approach to the mission you are doing to not die, and advance to the next tier.

For now, I played in the Solomon Island and the Valley of the Sun God, and have completed the first part in Transylvania. I like the change of environment, and history that you discover, encounter while changing zones.

This game is not perfect, but is close to it. And what I like is the fact that players can send invite keys to their friends in order to test the game for 72h and get addicted to it ^^.

http://www.thesecretworld.com/news

I’m linking a video I made of a dungeon run with my Dragon Cabal <The Empire Rising>

 

If you are playing the game and looking for a Cabal you can contact me ingame CobraGuru 🙂 😉 and remember, have fun and play

Leave a Reply

