Grim Dawn : I’ve tried it, I’ve played it and I’ve liked it

Ok my title, in the same way as Veni Vidi Vici, may not be the best 😉

But I wanted really to introduce you to Grim Dawn and make an impact to attract your eyes. 😉

After Diablo II, there was a hole in hack’n slash, action RPG  games. A couple games were released, but none was really impressing players.

Then Diablo 3 finally arrived with it’s good and bad side, some issues and deception for lots of players. We had also Path of Exile with its impressive skill tree and its mmo access (you can meet players in village area).

I’ve played both games and I like them both, even if they are very different.

I also played Van Helsing final cut, the one and only that should be played, recovering the errors made in the 3, combining all that was good in the series.

Then I heard about Grim Dawn and a little bit of those 3 titles are in it. Does it make it the best one ? Probably not, but if you like arpg hack’n slash, you definitively need to try it.

From steam page : Enter an apocalyptic fantasy world where humanity is on the brink of extinction, iron is valued above gold and trust is hard earned. This ARPG features complex character development, hundreds of unique items, crafting and quests with choice & consequence.

Crate Enterainment is former Iron Lore which made Titan Quest long time ago. Grim Dawn was in project for many, many years.

In Grim Dawn, you start with a male or female, always looking the same, classless. You’ll choose your class later, at level 2 ; 6 classes are available :

Soldier Demolitionist Occultist Nightblade Arcanist Shaman

Some are close of what you can find in other hack’n slash, but the Demolitionist is awesome 😉

I made a couple videos for you to have an idea of the game :

 

 

Grim dawn has also lots of questing. While following the main quest, you’ll have lots of secondary quests with choice to decide whom will have the result of them. You’ll have to choose also the good answer to dialogs.

Quests with Choice and Consequence – You will face tough decisions that leave significant impacts upon the world. Strangers on the road, desperate families and even entire villages may live or perish based on your actions. Currently over 35 quests with 75+ lore notes to be collected.

 

If you want to fight monsters, zombies, humans also. If you want to craft items, gears, improve your stats, socketing, if you look for a good universe with good music, a good atmosphere, then you’ll like Grim Dawn.

 

And remember, have fun and play 🙂

 

PS : For your information : I’m not sponsored by any developpers or editors. I play the game I buy myself and try to be objective in my review. Ok I choose the game I play, so I’m often giving good review, but not always.

Leave a Reply

